What is Nephrology Worldwide?

Transcending borders and connecting nephrology worldwide

Nephrology Worldwide is an ongoing project initiated in 2019 with the coming together of nephrologists around the world to share knowledge and policies in the context of their respective realities. The first step of this international initiative was a book whose 1st edition was published in 2021 by Springer Nature.

This book presents contributions from leading international experts in the field of nephrology. Each chapter is independent and discusses nephrology in the author’s country, including the history of nephrology development, kidney disease epidemiology, clinical nephrology, dialysis practice in acute and chronic renal failure settings (hemodialysis, hemodiafiltration, peritoneal dialysis), pediatric nephrology, and kidney transplantation. In addition, the book covers topics such as the job market for nephrologists, reimbursement, nephrology education, and the number of professionals in the private and public sectors.

One central premise of this project was the representation of all regions and continents, so that the book would be legitimately international. More than 300 authors from 51 different nationalities contributed to the 53 chapters. The countries represented encompass a population of about 5.7 billion people, representing around three-quarters of the world population. This makes “Nephrology Worldwide” one of the most international books in medicine.

More than a book, Nephrology Worldwide is intended to be a living document, to be updated periodically. We believe this project will survive through its multiple missions and ultimate goal: “integrate nephrology around the world”.

Nephrology Worldwide by region

North America

  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • United States of America

Central America

  • Cuba
South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ethiopia
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
Western Europe

  • Denmark
  • France
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
Eastern Europe

  • Albania
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Ukraine

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
Southeast Asia

  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
Middle East

  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Sultanate of Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
South Asia

  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Pakistan
East Asia

  • China
  • Japan